ORMOC CITY and two other cities in Eastern Visayas bag the 2022 Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG), the highest recognition and the most prestigious award to local government units for their excellence in the delivery of public service through compliance to pertinent national laws and guidelines. 

The Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) on Thursday announced the inclusion of the cities of Ormoc, Tacloban and Maasin among the 60 cities all over the country that received the award, which symbolizes integrity and good performance of local governments.

In a statement, the city government of Ormoc said getting the 2022 SGLG award is “an acknowledgment of the city’s exemplary local governance.”

“The award, which is considered as the most prestigious, is an indication that Ormoc City is superb in her services and functions in the aspect of Financial Administration, Disaster Preparedness, Social Protection and Sensitivity Programs, Health Compliance and Responsiveness, Programs for Sustainable Education, Business-Friendliness and Competitiveness, Safety, Peace and Order, Environmental Management, Tourism, Heritage Development, Culture and Arts, and Youth Development,” it stated.

“With this accolade, the City of Ormoc will be even more motivated to deliver the best services to all Ormocanons and to uphold this motto every single day: #TheBestIsYetToCome,” it added.

The SGLG awards, which was institutionalized through the enactment of Republic Act No. 11292, or the SGLG Act, is an incentive, honor and recognition-based program, which aims to boost the LGUs’ drive to constantly progress and sustain their notable performance across various governance areas. 

The award came at a time when the city was having a month-long celebration of the 75th Charter anniversary.

“We also congratulate the administration of then mayor Congressman Richard Gomez and the 15th Sangguniang Panlungsod whose values of governing the city are transmitted in the current administration of the incumbent City Mayor Lucy Torres Gomez and the 16th Sangguniang Panlungsod,” the statement said. Aside from the three cities, 12 other municipalities in the region are also in the roster of 2022 SGLG awardees. These are Quinapondan, Eastern Samar; Jiabong and Paranas towns of Samar; Barugo, Leyte; and the municipalities of Bontoc, Hinunangan, Liloan, Macrohon, Padre Burgos, Sogod, St. Bernard and Tomas Oppus of Southern Leyte. By Elmer Recuerdo (EV Mail October 24-30, 2022 issue)