TACLOBAN CITY – Despite supporting President Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. during the May 9, 2022 elections, Samar island representatives have preferred to join the minority bloc of the lower house.

In a joint statement, Samar 1st Dist. Rep. Stephen James Tan and 2nd Dist. Rep. Reynolds Michael Tan said their decision aims to continue the legacy of former representative and now Samar Governor Sharee Ann Tan-Delos Santos.

Governor Tan served as the Deputy Minority Leader during the 18th Congress.

They pointed out that their membership in the minority bloc should not be taken to mean that they have joined the opposition. 

“We supported them (President Ferdinand “Bongbong” R. Marcos, Jr. and Vice-President Sara Duterte-Carpio) even before they were elected and we shall continue to support them throughout their tenure as President and Vice-President,” the solons said.

They further clarified that their membership in the minority bloc would ensure that the concerns of the people of Samar would not be drowned out by the overwhelming number of voices in the majority. 

“Through the minority, we will have a platform from which we can speak for the people of Samar and ensure that the people’s hopes and dreams are heard by the House leadership. Through this smaller stage, we can reach a wider audience,” added said statement. Former Governor Michael Tan earlier vowed for a 100,00-vote margin between President Marcos and his opponents yet the province delivered over 160,000-gap between Marcos and Former Vice President Leni Robredo, who won in Samar in the 2016 elections. (By Marie Tonette Marticio, EV Mail July 25-31, 2022 Issue)